Water's / Arthur's - Water's Landing
History and Style:
This house was built in 1871 by Captain William Waters. At one point, in a time before electricity came through the Kingston Peninsula, this property had a windmill which charged batteries to power two plugs and one light bulb in each room. Between 1929 and 1930, when many wharves were cemented to accommodate an abundance of riverboat traffic, a cement basement was constructed under the house. The private Waters family cemetery sits near the home and is kept in fine condition. Unique to this home is a room in which not only the ceiling but the walls as well are covered in individual pressed tin panels.