Carmichael's - Clifton
Gilbert and Annetta Wetmore to Amos J. Wetmore -
Amos J. Wetmore to Williston Carmichael - 1939
Williston Carmichael to Dorothy (Jefferson) Legassick - 1952
Dorothy Legassick to Edward Shiels - 1967
Until recently, there was a small building on the edge of the road that was first used as Mr. Carmichael’s Pharmacy and later as a garage.
History and Style:
This unique little cottage was built by Williston Carmichael in the 1940’s. It sits in a quiet cedar grove on the banks of the Kennebecasis River. Mr. Carmichael, a chemist and druggist, once ran the Clifton Pharmacy at the side of the scenic Mountain Road. This is the only house on the Peninsula built entirely of stone. Of special note are the segmental arches over the basement windows.